National Parks and Wildlife Act 1974 No 80
Current version for 26 October 2018 to date (accessed 26 May 2020 at 10:38)
Schedule 8
Schedule 8 Regional advisory committees
(Section 24 (2) and (4))
1A   Application
This Schedule applies to regional advisory committees constituted under section 24 (2) of this Act.
1   Composition
(1)  A regional advisory committee is to consist of at least 12 members, but not more than 17 members, appointed by the Minister.
(2)  The members are to include at least 2 Aboriginal persons, a person jointly nominated by the Nature Conservation Council of New South Wales and the National Parks Association of New South Wales, and such other persons who, in the opinion of the Minister, have one or more of the following qualifications:
(a)  expertise and experience in local government,
(b)  expertise and experience in community involvement in conservation,
(c)  expertise in Aboriginal Cultural Heritage,
(d)  scientific qualifications in the area of conservation biology, wildlife management or related disciplines,
(e)  expertise and experience in rural or regional issues,
(f)  expertise and experience in agriculture and rural issues, being a person nominated by the New South Wales Farmers’ Association.
(g)  expertise and experience in ecotourism or ecologically sustainable visitor or tourist use, enjoyment and appreciation of reserves,
(h)  expertise and experience in environmental education and community involvement in environmental education,
(i)  expertise in non-Aboriginal cultural heritage conservation.
(3)  The Minister is to ensure, as far as is possible, that the composition of the advisory committee reflects the expertise and experience referred to in subclause (2).
(4)  The Chief Executive is to arrange for a senior officer of the Service to attend meetings of each advisory committee and for secretarial support to be available to each advisory committee.
2   Removal from office
(1)  The Minister may for any cause which to the Minister seems sufficient remove from office any member of an advisory committee.
(2)  Without limiting the generality of subclause (1), the Minister may remove from office a member of an advisory committee who is absent without leave of the advisory committee (or without being excused by the committee) from 3 consecutive meetings held by the advisory committee over any period of 12 months.
3   Vacation of office
A member of an advisory committee shall be deemed to have vacated the member’s office if the member:
(a)  dies,
(b)  resigns the member’s office by writing under the member’s hand addressed to the Minister,
(c)  becomes a temporary patient, a continued treatment patient, a protected person or an incapable person within the meaning of the Mental Health Act 1958 or a person under detention under Part 7 of that Act, or
(d)  is removed from office by the Minister.
4   Vacancies and additional members
The Minister may from time to time appoint additional members of any advisory committee or appoint a member to fill any vacancy.
5   Term of office
The members of an advisory committee shall hold office for such period, not exceeding 4 years, as may be specified in their respective instruments of appointment and are eligible, if otherwise qualified, for further appointment under this Schedule.
6, 7   (Repealed)
8   Quorum
(1)  A majority of the members of an advisory committee shall form a quorum at any meeting of the committee and any duly convened meeting of the committee at which a quorum is present shall be competent to transact any business of the committee.
(2)  Questions arising at a meeting of an advisory committee shall be determined by a majority of votes of the members present and voting.
9   Procedure
The procedure for the calling of meetings of an advisory committee and for the conduct of business at those meetings shall, subject to this Schedule and any regulations made in relation thereto, be as determined by the advisory committee.
10   Expenses
A member of an advisory committee shall be entitled to receive such travelling and other expenses (if any) as the Minister may determine in respect of the member.