

Environmental Planning and Assessment (Regions) Order 2020

under the

Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979

I, the Minister for Planning and Public Spaces, in pursuance of section 3.2(a) of the *Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979*, make the following Order.

Dated, this 28th day of August 2020.

ROBERT STOKES, MP Minister for Planning and Public Spaces

Explanatory note

The object of this Order is to declare certain local government areas to be regions for the purposes of Division 3.1 of Part 3 of the *Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979* which provides for the preparation of regional strategic plans.

This Order is made under section 3.2(a) of the Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979.

Environmental Planning and Assessment (Regions) Order 2020

under the

Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979

1 Name of Order

This Order is the Environmental Planning and Assessment (Regions) Order 2020.

2 Commencement

This Order commences on the day on which it is published on the NSW legislation website.

3 Declaration of regions

For the purposes of Division 3.1 of Part 3 of the *Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979*, the following regions are declared, with the names specified below, for the area of the State within the local government areas specified—

- (a) Central Coast—comprising the local government area of Central Coast,
- (b) Central West and Orana—comprising the local government areas of Bathurst Regional, Blayney, Bogan, Cabonne, Coonamble, Cowra, Dubbo Regional, Forbes, Gilgandra, Lachlan, Lithgow City, Mid-Western Regional, Narromine, Oberon, Orange City, Parkes, Warren, Warrumbungle and Weddin,
- (c) Far West—comprising the local government areas of Balranald, Bourke, Brewarrina, Broken Hill City, Central Darling, Cobar, the Unincorporated Area, Walgett and Wentworth,
- (d) Hunter—comprising the local government areas of Cessnock City, Dungog, Lake Macquarie City, Maitland City, Mid-Coast, Muswellbrook, Newcastle City, Port Stephens, Singleton and Upper Hunter,
- (e) Illawarra-Shoalhaven—comprising the local government areas of Kiama, Shellharbour City, Shoalhaven City and Wollongong City,
- (f) New England North West—comprising the local government areas of Armidale Regional, Glen Innes Severn, Gunnedah, Gwydir, Inverell, Liverpool Plains, Moree Plains, Narrabri, Tamworth Regional, Tenterfield, Uralla and Walcha,
- (g) North Coast—comprising the local government areas of Ballina, Bellingen, Byron, Clarence Valley, Coffs Harbour City, Kempsey, Kyogle, Lismore City, Nambucca, Port Macquarie-Hastings, Richmond Valley and Tweed,
- (h) Riverina Murray—comprising the local government areas of Albury City, Berrigan, Bland, Carrathool, Coolamon, Cootamundra-Gundagai Regional, Edward River, Federation, Greater Hume, Griffith City, Hay, Junee, Leeton, Lockhart, Murray River, Murrumbidgee, Narrandera, Snowy Valleys, Temora and Wagga Wagga City,
- (i) South East and Tablelands—comprising the local government areas of Bega Valley, Eurobodalla, Goulburn Mulwaree, Hilltops, Queanbeyan-Palerang

Regional, Snowy Monaro Regional, Upper Lachlan, Wingecarribee and Yass Valley.